My transmission went out, and rather than putting another $2000 into my 10-11 year old car, I think it’s best to start looking at new(er) cars. I’m by no means in an ideal or even remotely ideal position to purchase a car and commit to monthly payments. In fact, I have no idea how I’m going to do it. I’ve sought advice, but all I’ve gotten is conflicting opinions:

Mechanic: Fix the transmission, sell the car later and make your $2000 back

Dad: you won’t get 2000 for your car, so buy a cheap, foreign car like a Kia so you have the 10 year / 100,000 mi warranty

Mom: buy a newer, used car, or buy a Ford Focus

Friends: try Carmax

Aunt: buy American

Friends: buy foreign

Boss: lease

Dad: never lease, you’re throwing your money away, and don’t buy another used car

AHHHHHH. It’s enough to make my head spin. Not to mention that I’m so strapped right now! I never wanted to have to go through this alone, yet here I am, sans car expert to help me with this major life purchase/decision. Ugh.

