Yes, I realize I originally wrote that this would be a ten day detox, but after my free consult with the super nice nutritionist in my doctor’s office, she said I should try to stretch the meal/powder plan into 4 more days, since I will have enough powder. In case you are curious, the powder tasted horrible to me for the first 3 days. After that, I realized I could add a little cinnamon and ice and blend it – it helps IMMENSELY.

Today marks my 3rd day without eating any food. The plan includes 3 days with NO food – only the rice/protein powder mix with water. I’m considering stretching my fasting one more day for two reasons: 1) I REALLY want to loose weight, and 2) my car is in the shop and I cannot make it to Trader Joes to buy spinach and strawberries, which is supposed to be my lunch tomorrow.

Anyhow, the fact that I’m even considering not eating for yet another day should tell you that I’m doing O.K. This is not nearly as difficult as I thought it would be. The first day of the program was tough – I remember having headaches (probably due to no caffene, no sugar, and no fake sugar!). Beyond that, my only complaints are: sleepiness (yes, I’m so ridiculously tired, even though I’ve been sleeping well and for about 7-8 hrs/night), moderate muscle aches, and moderate hunger. Doable.

Mind (and prayers) over matter.

“Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God (and expensive protein/rice powder).” Matthew 4:4 (& me)

