What an amazing 3-day weekend. It wasn’t amazing because of any one thing in particular (although the 70-80 degree weather did help); I think it was so amazing because I had the good fortune of spending time with so many cool people in just 3 1/2 days. 

On Friday night April and I went to Borderlines. We ended up meeting some crazy fun people on the dance floor, and together we closed the place down. It was NUTS. I taught everyone on the dance floor how to tush push, and we danced our hearts out. The band even thought we were the coolest girls there; they came and talked to us for awhile. In fact, we ended up with quite a few adoring fans that night…

On Saturday I hiked the Santa Monica mountains with a bunch of new friends from my “life group” at church. It was a three hour hike, so we had plenty of time to chat and get to know each other. After the hike, a few of us picniced at Zuma beach. Within an hour we fell asleep in the sand. It was LOVELY. After we woke up, we went to our Saturday evening church in our sandy hiking clothes. I love that 1) my church is laid back like that (it is Southern California), and 2) I had people with me (I had been going alone). After the service I met a friend of a friend for drinks. He and I actually grew up in neighboring towns in Texas. Small world, for sure! It’s nice to have a Texan guy (who is normal & nice) to hang out with in LA. (Don’t even get me started on LA guys…UGH). 

On Sunday morning April and I did our usual 3-5 mile walk, and during our walk we decided we would start training for Bay to Breakers. It’s a 7+ mile run/walk UPHILL in San Fran in May. We want to join two of our friends and enter the race as 90’s spandex speed-walkers. It will, of course, be awesome. Anyhow, after our walk, one of my friends had a last minute fondue/PJ/wine/Step Up “party” at her apartment. Yeah, my friends are creative like that.

Today (Monday) I had the day off work in honor of MLK. I slept late and made myself the best batch of banana walnut chocolate chip pancakes that I’ve made IN MY LIFE. I also speed-walked 4.2 miles. That was pretty tiring, and that wasn’t even UPHILL or 7+ miles. It’s nice to have a goal for which to “train.” Hopefully my knees will hold up…

Wow, this was a total journal entry. At least I left out the boring parts, like grocery shopping and getting gas…

